2017 Lectures

We offer three official meetings each month, on the 1st, 2nd & 3rd Tuesday of every month.
 
 Workshop/Introduction,      Social evening,      & Main Lecture(Guest Speaker)

All meetings start at 20:00 and last approximately 90 minutes.

Venues

  • Tuesday, 21st March 2017.

Alan Brown (STFC) will be speaking on ‘James Web and the Invisible RED’.

  • Tuesday, 18th April 2017.

Nigel Ball (S. Cheshire AS), will be speaking on ‘Astrophotography’.

  • Tuesday, 16th May 2017.

Rhian Jones (University of Manchester). will be speaking on ‘Meteorites and the birth of the Solar System'.

  • Tuesday, 20th June 2017.

Martin Lunn (MBE, FRAS, former Curator of Astronomy, York Museum) will be speaking on ‘Anglo Saxon Astronomy’.

  • Tuesday, 18th July 2017.

Dayl Martin (University of Manchester) will be speaking on ‘Geological history of the Moon’

  • Tuesday, 15th August 2017.

Summer Exhibition: Displays, Observing, Competitions, Raffle, Refreshments.

  • Tuesday, 19th September 2017.

Frances Butcher (Cantab) will be speaking on ‘Frozen in time: Unlocking the Mysteries of Glaciers on Mars’

  • Tuesday, 17th October 2017.

AGM, Red Lion, Goostrey

  • Tuesday, 21st November 2017.

Dr. Colin Steele (University of Manchester) will be speaking on ‘A Day on each Planet’

  • Tuesday, 19th December 2017.

Dr. Mark Norris (UCLAN) will be speaking on ’The Large Star Clusters & Smallest Galaxies’

Observing

Local observing sessions
We hold regular observing and imaging sessions at dark-sky sites across Macclesfield.

starparty

Weekend field trips
Learn more about our observing field trips where we observe the night sky in all its glory.

Top

© Macclesfield Astronomical Society 2017

This page was last modified on 15 March 2017